Finding Direction

Today’s Tip: Life takes work. It’s helpful to know what kind of work you want to do. I’m not sure I do.

This recent heat spell must be getting to me. I’ve had a serious lack of motivation, enthusiasm, and even happiness over the last week or so. It’s been mid-80s to mid-90s most days with 75% or higher humidity. And our house doesn’t have air conditioning. Normally I don’t complain about that, but you can’t keep the humidity out. At all.

Oddly enough, I think the most enjoyable time for me was at the horse show I was at yesterday. Yes, I was having the most fun wearing a three-piece polyester suit, hat, black boots, and gloves and putting in extra effort to get my horses to try to maintain some semblance of consistency in the 4″ deep muck that was the ring (it had poured there overnight).

Today I’m trying to get some work done in the office. I’m desperately behind, but really not as bad as usual. I’m not sure if the weather and my overload of work are all that are dragging me down or not. I say “all” because those things are changeable. Ok, not the weather, but it WILL change. Having to go to work every day really isn’t going to change, at least not any time in the foreseeable future.

So my question for myself today is, “Would I be happier doing something else?” Am I annoyed sitting in this office because it’s not where am meant to be? Or maybe I’m just crabby?

Some days I think I want to be a trainer. Lessons are not my thing, I want to actually work with horses. However, I fear that my frequent lapses in motivation would lead me to fail at that. Sometimes, though, I think that it would be more fun and I would be able to “force” myself to stay dedicated.

I guess I don’t really have any inspiring insight, but just wanted to vent today! If you by chance do have some brilliant idea of where I can get the money for a training facility, let me know. Maybe I’ll consider it fate and explore other options 🙂

Leave a Reply

